Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

I could not ignore the holiday coming up this weekend, so this week’s theme was Valentine’s Day!

We began by reading Sweet Hearts byJan Carr, illustrated by Dorothy Donohue.Sweet HeartsThis is a very sweet story about a little panda girl who leaves valentines all over her house for her family to find. This is a very nice book, although the children had a hard time understanding what was going on. I thought it was going to be a bigger hit but sadly, it wasn’t.

Next we read I love you Stinky Face written by Lisa McCourt and illustrated by Cyd Moore.

I love you Stinky Face

This is a great book about a child whose mother reassures him that they will love them even if they are stinky, slimy or even an alien. This book was fun to read and the kids enjoyed it too.

After that we read Valentine Surprise by Corinne Demas, illustrated by R.W. Alley.

Valentine Surprise

In this book, a little girl tries to make her mom the perfect heart-shaped valentine for Valentine’s Day but keeps making mistakes. Not to worry- her mom thinks they are perfect. This was a great book to read in preparation for our craft today.

We finished with Guess How Much I Love You written by Sam McBratney and illustrated by Anita Jeram.

Guess How Much I Love You

I actually hadn’t planned on reading this book but I had brought it with me as a plan B book, just in case one of my other choices didn’t work out, and one of the kids saw it and begged me to read it. It went over really well, I imagine because so many of them were familiar with it.

For our craft this week, we made valentines. This was a very easy and super fun craft. I pre-folded paper and cut out lots of hearts for them to use. Everyone had a great time.


 

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « Awesome Storytime

Leave a Reply

