Boo! Halloween Storytime!

My most favorite holiday ever is Halloween! Last year we sort of dropped the ball with our Halloween storytime so I definitely wanted to make up for it this year! My theme was loosely ghosts. I had one book, in particular, that I was excited to read and sort of used as inspiration for this week’s storytime.

We started storytime this week with Pumply, Dumply Pumpkin by Mary Serfozo.

I think I have pulled this book before for other storytimes but it hasn’t made the cut for storytime. I really liked this book. It was fun to read with lots of rhyming phrases and the kids really enjoyed guessing what the pumply dumply pumpkin would be used for. 

Next we read Boo, Bunny! by Kathryn O. Galbraith, illustrated by Jeff Mack.

This book is a good example of me really liking a book and realizing that it may be better for a lapsit type of situation rather than a storytime after the fact. Don’t get me wrong, I think the kids enjoyed it… just maybe not as much as I thought they would. Before I started the story one little girl asked if this was a scary story. I told her it wasn’t scary but it was maybe a little Halloween creepy. I think that a) my answer didn’t really make sense and b) the kids were a little off because of the possibility of it being scary. I think this is a great book and is lots of fun but it wasn’t right for this group today. That happens, I can’t always be super awesome and pick out crowd pleasers 100% of the time.

Next we read Go Away Big Green Monster! by Ed Emberley.

This book is a classic and really needs no explanation. Emberley’s books are great for storytime because they are so visually appealing. I love it when I read it to a group of kids and there is one in the group who has never seen it before. I love the look they get as the monster slowly starts to unravel. At my library, we have a cool Go Away Big Green Monster glove that I retold the story with after I read the book.

The kids really liked the repetition of the story. They also thought the glove was really cool and enjoyed watching me add and subtract its pieces.

Finally, I closed with Ghosts in the House! by Kazuno Kohara

This book was my storytime inspiration! It came out in 2008, but I didn’t learn about it until last year. I love this book! This year I bought it as a Halloween gift for all of the little kids in my life. I like it because while it is about ghosts and Halloween it’s not really scary. Ghosts don’t always have to be super scary and creepy they can be friendly too (just like Casper!)

There are so many Halloween songs and fingerplays out there. I chose just a few to get us rolling…. first we sang If You’re a Ghost and You Know It, which was a huge success. We sing If You’re Happy and You Know It every storytime, so the kids really like it when we mix it up. They came up with lots of great things such as yelling “Boo!”, waving our arms and spinning in circles.

I needed a bit of movement  in today’s storytime so I found something to get them up off the ground. This one fit the bill:

Ring Around the Pumpkins
Pocket full of spiders
Boo! Boo!
We all fall down!
The ghosts are in the meadow
Drinking witches brew
Boo! Boo!
We all stand up!

Finally, I really like this fingerplay because it sort of went a long with the whole ghost idea:

Five Little Ghosts
Five little ghosts dressed all in white
Were scaring each other on Halloween night.
“Boo!” said the first one, “I’ll catch you.'” (Hold up pointer)
“Wooo said the second, “I don’t care if you do! (Hold up middle finger)
The third ghost said, “You can’t run away from me.” (Hold up ring finger)
And the fourth one said, “I’ll scare everyone I see! (Hold up little finger)
Then the last one said, “It’s time to disappear.” (Hold up thumb)
“See you at Halloween time next year!”

The craft today was SUPER easy but also lots of fun. We made tissue ghosts.

This is very easy. Using a facial tissue, you cover a sucker and secure it with yarn, string or ribbon. Because this was so easy and quick, I also provided cute Halloween coloring sheets for them to color. Lots of fun!

2 thoughts on “Boo! Halloween Storytime!

  1. Hey, I use Boo, Bunny! today, too!! I also used… Vampire Boy’s Goodnight by Lisa Brown and Halloween Night by Elizabeth Hatch.

    We made pumpkin faces (I got the idea from you, thanks!!), did a colouring sheet, and then I had cupcakes and juice for everyone.

  2. I definitely wound up using “Pumply, Dumply Pumpkin” today at outreach storytime — thanks to your recommendation! And I really love that Green Big Monster glove. That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

