SNOW!

This week it snowed in Chicago! It was the fifth largest snowstorm on record and it just keeps falling. I planned this story time a few weeks ago and really wanted to wait for a snowy week to share this theme with my story time friends.

Books we read:

Snow by Urio ShulevitzSnowballs by Lois EhlertSnow by Manya Stojic

Snowball by Nina Crews

Oh! by Kevin Henkes

Snow by Uri Shulevitz

Snowballs by Lois Ehelrt

Snow by Manya Stojic

Snowball by Nina Crews

Oh! by Kevin Henkes

I do multiple story times each week for different groups and ages of children, so I always like to have more than a few choices to swap in and out.

Songs we sang:

I’m A Little Snowfriend (to the tune of I’m a Little Teapot)

I’m a little snowfriend short and fat!

Here’s my scarf and here’s my hat!

When the snow is falling hear me say,

Build a snowman every day!

*

I’m a little snowfriend short and fat!

Here’s my scarf and here’s my hat!

When the weather warms up, tee, hee, hee

I’ll melt and there’s no more of me!

I found it here (http://www.letsplaykidsmusic.com/my-little-snowman-kids-songs-for-christmas/) and changed the words from snowman to snowfriend.

Flannel board activities:

I made two flannel boards for this week’s them. The first is all over the internet, but I first found it on Loons and Quines @ Librarytime (http://loonsandquines.blogspot.com/2012/01/flannel-friday-five-little-snowflakes.html). I really love the idea of backing the snowflakes with blue felt to make them more sturdy and also I think it will look a bit nicer on my red flannel board. Something to add for my next snow themed story time!

Five little snowflakes

Five Little Snowflakes

One little snowflake with nothing to do,
Along came another and then there were… two!
Two little snowflakes laughing with me,
Along came another and then there were…three!
Three little snowflakes looking for some more,
Along came another and then there were…four!
Four little snowflakes dancing a jive,
Along came another, and then there were…five!
Five little snowflakes, having so much fun!
Out came the sun, and then there were none!
I was also very inspired by Storytime Katie’s mittens (http://storytimekatie.com/2012/01/20/flannel-friday-mittens/). I really loved how she added shapes to her mittens, which can add some depth to the activity and made the mittens a little more exciting to look at.
.IMG_1579

Everyone LOVED this activity, which was no surprise. The kids really loved matching their mittens and we had a nice chat about whether or not we wore mittens or gloves (I prefer mittens!)

Leave a comment