Back To School

A few of my regulars start Kindergarten next week so in preparation, we did a back to school storytime!

We started with Chicka Chika Boom Boom by Bill Martin Jr. and John Archambault illustrated by Lois Ehlert.

This book is extremely popular with the kids in my library, its circulation rate is through the roof. My storytime friends really enjoyed pointing out the different letters and especially enjoyed all of the different injuries suffered by the letters after they fell off the coconut tree. The vibrant and silly pictures are always a huge hit with the kids.

Next we read Minerva Louise At School by Janet Morgan Stoeke.
This book may have been a bit much for the younger kids but the older children enjoyed Minerva Louise as she mistakenly identified different things in the school. They were very proud when they were able to identify the items correctly.

Next we read School Bus by Donald Crews.

Although I think this is a great book, I don’t think that the kids enjoyed it as much as I hoped they would. I think part of the problem may have been that only a few of the children actually ride school buses to school so they are not as familiar with them.

We finished with Wow School! by Robert Neubecker.
Although this isn’t a very text heavy book the pictures are absolutely fantastic. Much like his other books, Wow City! and Wow America! this book has bright and colorful pictures that fill each page. The kids couldn’t get enough of them.

Coming up with a craft this week was sort of difficult. I settled on an apple craft. You know, because apples have to do with school… in a way. We made super hero apples with a capital A. I got it from this website:
http://www.dltk-teach.com/alphabuddies/mawesomeapple.html

One thought on “Back To School

  1. Wonderful! We are starting our storytim late, Oct 6, to be exact, due to renovations. A bit late for a back to school theme so I was wanting to do a ‘get to know you-you are special’ theme. I have a really cool, fun green monster puppet, so my title is “It’s Okay to be Green”. Monster is timid to come out because he thinks the kids won’t like him because he looks different than they look. I have a few books put aside for this. I am beginning my forth year doing storytime. What are your thoughts on this theme? Crafts?

Leave a Reply

